Department of Labor Logo United States Department of Labor
Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

BLS Technical Advisory Committee

The Bureau of Labor Statistics Technical Advisory Committee (BLSTAC) advises the Commissioner of Labor Statistics on statistical methodology and other technical matters related to the collection and analysis of BLS data.

We are looking for new members of the Technical Advisory Committee. See the Federal Register notice for information about how to submit a nomination. Nomination deadline is October 16, 2019.

Charter of the Technical Advisory Committee

Members of the Technical Advisory Committee

The members of the Technical Advisory Committee are:

  • Alberto Cavallo, Edgerley Family Associate Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School
  • Carol Corrado, Senior Advisor and Research Director, The Conference Board
  • David Deming, Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School
  • John Haltiwanger, Professor of Economics, University of Maryland
  • Steven Heeringa, Associate Director, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Bart Hobijn, Professor of Economics, Arizona State University
  • Susan Houseman, Vice President and Director of Research, W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research
  • Chinhui Juhn, Henry Graham Professor of Economics, University of Houston
  • Bruce Meyer, McCormick Foundation Professor of Public Policy, University of Chicago
  • Kristen Olson, Leland J. and Dorothy H. Olson Associate Professor and Vice Chair, Sociology, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Keith Phillips, Assistant Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • Aysegul Sahin, Richard J. Gonzalez Regents Chair in Economics, University of Texas at Austin
  • Julia Silge, Data Scientist, Stackoverflow
  • Tara Sinclair, Associate Professor of Economics and International Affairs, The George Washington University
  • Dan Sullivan, Executive Vice President and Director of Research, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
  • Brady West, Research Associate Professor, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor 

Technical Advisory Committee Meetings

The Technical Advisory Committee usually meets two times each year. The planned meeting schedule to date is:

  • November 22, 2019
  • June 19, 2020 

Past Meetings

June 21, 2019

November 17, 2017

June 16, 2017

November 18, 2016

June 17, 2016

November 20, 2015

May 15, 2015

November 21, 2014

June 20, 2014

November 8, 2013

June 21, 2013

November 9, 2012

June 15, 2012


For more information on the Technical Advisory Committee, please contact


Last Modified Date: September 16, 2019