Department of Labor Logo United States Department of Labor
Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

National Compensation Survey - Wages


Major Occupational Groups: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | K
About the Occupational Classification System Manual
MOG A—Professional Occupations
Engineers, Architects, and Surveyors
Exclude Designers (A185), Stationary Engineers (E696), Sales Engineers (C258) and Marine Engineers (G833).

Include all fields of engineering not specifically listed under MOG A. Include persons concerned with practical application of physical laws and principles of engineering for the development and utilization of machines and materials, instruments, processes, and services. Specializations may include research, design, construction, testing, procurement, production, operations, and sales. (Work requires knowledge equivalent to at least that acquired through completion of a 4-year college engineering program.)

Last modified: October 16, 2001