Department of Labor Logo United States Department of Labor
Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

April 2014

Lawrence R. Klein Award recipients announced for 2013

Each year since 1969, the Lawrence R. Klein Award has honored the best articles appearing in the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Monthly Labor Review. The award was established in honor of Lawrence R. Klein, who retired in 1968 after 22 years as editor-in-chief of the Review and established a fund to encourage articles that

  1. exhibit originality of ideas or methods on analysis,
  2. adhere to the principles of scientific inquiry, and
  3. are well written.

Among articles by BLS authors in 2013, the trustees chose “High employment growth firms: defining and counting them” by Richard L. Clayton, Akbar Sadeghi, David M. Talan, and James R. Spletzer (June 2013).

Among articles by non-BLS authors, the trustees selected “The relationship between housing and labor market crises and doubling up: an MSA-level analysis, 20052011” by William H. Rogers and Anne E. Winkler (August 2013).

Members of the Lawrence R. Klein Award board of trustees are Deborah Klein (president), Ronald Kutscher (secretary-treasurer), William Barron, Kenneth Dalton, and Robert Bednarzik.