Department of Labor Logo United States Department of Labor
Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

American Time Use Survey

ATUS Activity Coding Lexicons and Coding Manuals

The ATUS Activity Coding Lexicon is a 3-tiered classification system with 17 first-tier categories. Each of the first-tier categories has two additional levels of detail. Respondents' reported activities are assigned 6-digit activity codes based on this classification system. Activity codes are periodically evaluated and updated prior to the start of each year’s data collection. This page contains links to the ATUS Activity Coding Lexicons and Coding Rules Manuals.

ATUS Single-Year Activity Coding Lexicons:

ATUS Multi-Year Activity Coding Lexicons:

  • Multi-Year Activity Coding Lexicons (PDFs) (2003-2021) (2003-2020)—List of ATUS multi-year activity codes. The multi-year ATUS Activity Coding Lexicons contain activity codes unique to the multi-year Activity and Activity Summary files and should not be used with single-year files.

ATUS Coding Rules Manuals


Last Modified Date: July 12, 2022